I did NaNoWriMo last year, and I was so glad I did it.  The novel, when finished, was nigh incomprehensible.  I won, and to my own standard (ending the month not just with the requisite number of words but with the story line wrapped up) and I have that huge piece of disaster somewhere.  I didn’t plan it out, not in the slightest, and it shows.  I”m not sure it’s fixable either, every time I try it ends up worse.

I had so much fun, though, and it’s really great to challenge yourself to write every single day, and have a  set word limit.  Because of being ill (and horrifying tooth pain) this year it has really helped me set aside my physical ouch problems.

I am a little behind on my word count at this point, I’m going to catch up and try to pull ahead.

It’s a wonderful thing to have, a full length novel you’ve written yourself.  After last year, I knew that I could do it.  This year, instead of just sitting down and writing with no plan, I sat down and gave it some good serious mulling over.  I didn’t write anything at first, just thought about what I was going to do and in what order and so forth.  Putting that small amount of thought into it has made it a much smoother writing process, and I’m glad I did.

It’s not too late, you can still catch up.  Everyone talks about how they want to write a novel, and here’s an excuse to do just that.  It’s money-where-your-mouth-is time.

