As I have grown older, I have grown more and more apathetic towards Valentines Day.  It has a lot to do with being in a long-term relationship, I think.  I just don’t need a special day set aside for love.  He knows I love him, I know he loves me.  Sometimes we’ll get cards or candy or something- we have a rule about less than 10 bucks- but we don’t really go out that night.  God, who would?  Every place is going to be packed.

I don’t need him to spend 40 bucks on me for me to know he cares, and here’s why: almost every week, at least one day, he brings home some random foreign coin for me.  It doesn’t seem like a lot, I know, but I have a small collection of foreign coins.  Not in a coin-collector sense but in the ‘I think foreign money is pretty cool’ sense.  It’s tiny, the monetary value is less than a pack of gum for the most part.  I love it.  It shows that he’s thinking of me, all the time.

If you’re in a relationship and you’re committed at all, start trying to think of little things you can do.  Don’t make a big deal out of it, either, just do it.  “Oh, hey, I found this and thought of you.”  It’s better than chocolate.

(I’m sorry, I know I left singles out of this one.  I will be posting on how this holiday sucks the root if you’re single later this week, in the interest of being fair.)

EDIT: I realized I’d pretty much said all I want, and anything I said about being single came off as patronizing, so I WON’T be doing another article on this cheesy holiday.

