I think I’ll link to the tiny ghost at the bottom, from now on.

The phone rang.  She swore, and tried to pry it out of her pocket.  She nearly swerved off the road, but managed to get the cell phone to her ear.  “Hello?”

“Sarah, don’t hang up,” he said.

“No, Jeremy, I don’t want to talk to you.”

“I want to apologize.”

She sighed.  “We’ve gone over this before.  I don’t want to talk to you, I don’t want to see you.”

She hung up.  She rolled her eyes when the phone started ringing again.

She let it ring several times, and he called back three times before she answered again.  “What?” she asked.

“Look in the rearview mirror.”

She glanced up and saw the figure in the car behind her waving.

She shuddered, and took several deep breaths.  “What are you doing?”

“I’m trying to apologize.  Please- just pull off at the scenic turn out and we can talk.  Then you’ll never see me again.  I promise.”

She considered.  “Okay.  I’ll see you up there,” she said.  She hung up and put the phone on the dash.

She pulled off at the sign and parked the car.  She didn’t get out until he’d parked and got out.  When she did she didn’t leave her car.  He sighed.  “Is it bad that I want to apologize?”

“I have absolutely NO reason to trust you.”

He held out his hand.  “I just offer my apology.  I didn’t treat you the way I should have, and-”

She stepped forward.  “You don’t believe you did anything wrong.  You still don’t know why I’m mad, or why I left you.”  She shook her head.  “You can apologize all you want, but if you don’t know what’s wrong, it does no fucking good.”

He sighed.

“I appreciate that you’re trying.  I really do.  But it’s not enough.”

“No, it’s not.”  He grabbed her wrist.  “It’s never enough.  Come on, we’re going for a walk.”

She dug her heels in.  “Let go of me.”

He squeezed her wrist so hard she felt the bones grind against each other.  “Get moving, sweetheart.”

She followed him as he dragged her into the wood area surrounding the pull-off.  “Let go!” she shouted.  He jerked her so hard she nearly fell.   She kicked him in the shin and he shoved her to the ground, behind some trees.  “Look, just- just stop,” she said.  She sat up and was scooting away from him in the dirt.

“I’m tired of this, Sarah.  These games we’re playing with each other.”  He advanced on her.  “I know you love me.  You could never leave me for good.”

She slipped between two trees and scrambled to her feet.  She got about twenty feet before she felt hands on her shoulder.  A hand gripped her throat, and he picked her up.   His arm was  a brutal band of compression across her torso, the hand clamped tightly around her throat.  She couldn’t breathe.

He dragged her backwards.  She clawed at the hand around her throat, terrified of the creeping black in the sides of her vision.

When the darkness overwhelmed her, she didn’t know if she’d ever wake up.

This may be a ‘to be continued’ although I haven’t decided.  At any rate, based on this tiny ghost.

