This post could easily be labeled “And another thing…” but I decided to go with a Twilight label so if you’re sick of hearing about Twilight you can skip.

So, suddenly in the middle of a school year and for no apparent reason, Bella decides she’s going to move to Forks to live with her Dad.  Never mind that she clearly could live on her own just fine (one of her stated reasons for leaving Forks is that her Mom couldn’t travel with her at home).  Never mind how blatantly passive-aggressive her reason for leaving is.  And also, we know why she leaves because when you read the book you are essentially in her head.

She picks up in the middle of a SEMESTER and switches schools, moving to a town she is known to absolutely loathed going to that she hasn’t physically been in for at least 3 years from what I’m reading.

Her father, the cop, does not for one tiny little second think “Wait a minute- what the FUCK happened to Bella in Phoenix?”

Her mother has recently married, on top of this.  Nobody even thinks, even comes close to suggesting, that maybe Phil did something to her.  Or a high school acquaintance/teacher/librarian whatever.  Nobody ever suggests that she moved except for her own, personal, passive-aggressive reasons.  Nobody even goes “No, Bella, really- what happened in Phoenix?”

I’m re-reading these books (Yeah, I know, I’m a glutton for punishment) and that was the first thing that actually came to mind when Edward asked her why she’d moved.  Especially when her first response was evasive, I thought ‘oh god if someone responded like that I’d assumed something REALLY BAD had happened’.

So why does nobody, ever, not once even hint that she left because someone did something-anything- to her?

Ending note: I really don’t think there’s a whole lot more to be said about the Twilight books, and I am really trying not to post anything that I have read about them before (I’m sure some of this has been mentioned somewhere, but I haven’t read it to my knowledge).  I am likely going to re-read the whole series but I am doing it for personal interest- I think as a writer we should know what NOT to do as well as what to do, and reading a prime example of how Not To Write is healthy every once in a while.

Also, I would like to point out that for a Young Adult book (which Twilight is meant to be) it really isn’t bad.  I have a few other YA books and while it is certainly not the best of them, it is by no means the worst.

It is, sadly, the most popular of the worse books, and the fans for it are bleeding rabid and annoying.  I’m just saying, for the category it lives in and the audience it was intended for- there are definitely worse.  I wouldn’t have a problem with it at all if a: the fans weren’t worse than Joss Whedon fans (and I love me some Buffy but man Whedonites can be fucking insane) and if b: Meyer didn’t think she was some great literary/feminist hero.

