I decided not to do this one in parts since I finished it in one fell swoop.

I didn’t see much of it in the first book, but we have got clear beginnings of the relationship between Ron and Hermione.  When Malfoy picks on Hermione, Harry gets angry and Ron tries to clobber him.  The difference between a friend and a ‘wants to be more’ kind of thing.  There were multiple instances of this type of thing.

Oh, and things that shocked me just a bit whilst reading.  Hagrid was in his third year when his wand was snapped, which means he was probably 13 or 14 at the time.  Which means that in Chamber of Secrets he’s 63 or 64.  Does that blow anybody else’s mind?  Sure blows mine.  Speaking of age, that makes Voldemort either 65 or 66 and it makes Dumbledore much older than that.  Surely in his mid to late 80’s at the earliest.  I mean, holy JEEZ.

Anyway, so there’s a lot of the relatively subtle romantic subplot being set up (which, considering how long it takes for that all to come to fruition is somewhat impressive) and a bit more setup for Voldemort.  Dumbledore reveals that he thinks Harry was granted powers by the same token he received his scar (which we later find out is way way way true).

I don’t know that I noticed much else.  This book was very similar to the first book.  For some reason I thought Ginny was much younger than him but of course they’re not much more than a year apart.

